Melbourne Cup 2021 Facts | Horses, Fields & History

Do you love horse racing? Well, this is for you! The Melbourne Cup is among the most famous Australian horse racing that happens over a stretch of 3200 metres. It occurs at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne and is usually held every first Tuesday of November. It is a traditional horse racing activity that stops an entire nation. In 2021, the Melbourne Cup will happen on Tuesday 2nd November at 3 pm. The conditions will be Handicap, and the Prize Money will be $7,750,000. The horse racing activity attracts a huge following both in spectators, fans, and bettors. Avid gamblers await the event to bet on the Melbourne cup bet types and put across their favourite horses. So what’s the history of the Melbourne Cup? Let’s explore.

History of the Melbourne Cup

The iconic and renowned annual horse race was first to run in 1861. Archer won the first two cups, and this solidified the horse race. In the initial races, the major assertion for the win was stamina and staying power. For a horse to win the race, it had to down the entire 3,200 metres. The demand for contestants started growing, and the race began getting more applications from contestants. This also grew the following, and the race stuck to the first week of November, every year.

The Cup is usually made of the world’s stayers, local and international. The horse with the greatest stamina wins the handicap prize every year. While the race is 3200metres, it tests strength, endurance, and speed. In 1990, the Melbourne Cup had a record broken by a horse by the name Kingston Rule. The Bart Cummings- trained horse set the quickest win at 3:16:30 minutes.

Melbourne Cup Horses (2020)

While 2020 was a tough year for everyone, the Melbourne Cup still happened. It attracted many fans, which explains why it is referred to as ‘The Race that Stops a Nation’. The list for 2021 horses is not yet out but will be published when the race comes closer. As such, we shall discuss the horses that were in the final field for the Melbourne Cup place bet 2020.

  • Anthony Van Dyck (IRE) trained by Aidan O’Brien
  • Avilius (GB) trained by James Cummings
  • Vow and Declare trained by Danny O’Brien
  • Master of Reality(IRE) trained by Joseph O’Brien
  • Sir Dragonet(IRE) trained by Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
  • Twilight Payment(IRE) trained by Joseph O’Brien
  • The Chosen One(NZ) trained by Murray Baker and Andrew Dorsman
  • Miami Round(NZ) trained by Danny O’Brien

Final Field (2020)

The horses in the final field were 24. Twilight Payment, 55.5kg, emerged the winner of the Melbourne Cup. The Irish stayer had contested in the 2019 Melbourne cup and finished in 11th place. After receiving training from Joseph O’Brien, the galloper improved and finished top. It was a beautiful, deserved win. We hope that Twilight will make it to the 2021 Melbourne Cup. Tiger Moth, trained by Aidan O’Brien, came in second place, while the Price of Arran (GB) trained by Charlie Fellowes came in third position. Avilius, trained by James Cummings, came in at the last position.

One Comment

  1. Pingback: The Cox Plate Tips | Betting, Nominations, Field & Betting

Leave a Comment