TJ Perenara - Try of the Year nominee

VIDEO: World Rugby release shortlist for 2019 Try of the Year

World Rugby have named the four tries which are in contention for the Try of the Year 2019.

France flanker Charles Ollivon, South Africa scrum-half Cobus Reinach, New Zealand scrum-half TJ Perenara and Italy no.8 Sergio Parisse form the shortlist for the award which will be announced on November 3.

Charles Ollivon – France

Ollivon’s Try of the Year contender come during Les Bleus’ electric start to their quarter-final against Wales at the World Cup. When, following a barnstorming break from Virimi Vakatawa, scrum-half Antoine Dupont was able to draw a tackle from Liam Williams before passing to Ollivon to run under the posts.

Cobus Reinach – South Africa

Starting inside his own 22, South Africa fly-half Elton Jantjies produced an inch-perfect kick-pass for winger Warrick Gelant, who evaded DTH van der Merwe and sprinted into the Canadian half. Damian de Allende offered support to keep the move going and in turn spun a pass to scrum-half Cobus Reinach, who breezed under the posts to complete his hat-trick with barely 20 minutes of this RWC 2019 Pool B match played.

TJ Perenara – New Zealand

Playing in the unfamiliar role of fly-half against Namibia at Tokyo Stadium, TJ Perenara side-stepped Prince Gaoseb before racing into opposition territory and producing a stunning pass to George Bridge. Once play was recycled Rieko Ioane popped a pass to Brad Weber whose ridiculous offload found Perenara on the left wing. The All Blacks replacement set a course for the line, brushing off tackles from Obert Nortje and Helarius Kisting to touch down in the corner.

Sergio Parisse – Italy

Italy captain Sergio Parisse’s importance to the Azzurri was highlighted against Russia as he began and finished this free-flowing move. Having claimed the lineout and delivered the ball safely to scrum-half Tito Tebaldi, some quick hands in midfield created the space for Jake Polledri to break through and take Italy deep into Russian territory. Tebaldi was on hand to continue the move and ship a pass out to Parisse who powered over the line.

The shortlist was decided by a panel formed of Fiao’o Faamausili and Bryan Habana, along with Jamie Heaslip and Thierry Dusautoir.

Leave a Comment