Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

Liam Williams passed fit to play against Ireland in Six Nations

Wales full-back Liam Williams has overcome a shoulder knock to be passed fit to start in a crunch Six Nations clash against Ireland on Saturday.

The 27-year-old was taken off the field with his right arm in a sling in last weekend’s 18-11 victory over Scotland at Murrayfield, keeping Wales’ Grand Slam hopes alive.

Aiming to claim a Triple Crown in the process, Wales face Ireland who remain in with a shout of winning the title and scuppering the party in Cardiff.

The clearance of Williams to play by medical staff comes as a big boost to Wales, despite not part-taking in a contact training session this week. Nevertheless, they are unchanged for the match at the Principality Stadium – the scene of their last Grand Slam triumph in 2012.

In the battle for the 10 shirt, Gareth Anscombe remains the preferred starter for Wales head coach Warren Gatland, with Dan Biggar on the bench.

Gatland and Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt will be taking charge of their last Six Nations match, with both Kiwis set to leave their respective unions after the World Cup this autumn.

Announcing his team, Gatland commented: “We’ve named an unchanged squad and rewarded the players for the last couple of outings and the last couple of victories.

“These players are on a very good run, they are a hugely impressive group and they deserve to be going into the final weekend with everything to play for.

“It is a great reward for them for the hard work they have put in and we are all looking forward of what is going to be a huge game.

“For a number of us as coaches this is our last Six Nations game and that fact it is in Cardiff is extra special. There is bound to be a bit of emotion on Saturday and that is something to embrace.”

Wales team to face Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations (Saturday, 14:45 kick-off)

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Gareth Davies; 1 Rob Evans, 2 Ken Owens, 3 Tomas Francis, 4 Adam Beard, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (capt), 6 Josh Navidi, 7 Justin Tipuric, 8 Ross Moriarty

Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Dillon Smith, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Dan Biggar, 23 Owen Watkin

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

Have Your Say!

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]