Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

England in World Cup Pool of Death again

England will be in the Pool of Death at the 2019 World Cup in Japan after being drawn with France and Argentina at the tournament draw in Kyoto today.

The reigning Six Nations champions were in the top hat with world champions New Zealand, Australia and Ireland but they will still have to battle past the French, who are making good progress under Guy Noves and the always determined Pumas.

The remaining two teams in Pool C are still to be determined but they will be Americas 1, likely to be either the USA or Canada, and Oceania 2, Fiji or Samoa.

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “It’s all very exciting, we’ve got two Tests against Argentina in June so we can practice a little bit.

“France are improving and they are a dangerous team. Japan is a unique country with a unique culture and I think everyone here is massively excited.”

The All Blacks were grouped with twice champions South Africa and Italy in Pool B, while hosts Japan will take on Ireland and Scotland and two yet to be determined teams in Pool A.

Australia, runners up two years ago, will become reacquainted with Wales and also face Georgia and two other teams who have yet to qualify in Pool D.

The full draw:

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner (Europe 2 v Oceania 3)

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, repechage winner

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

betting sites

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]