England make two changes for Wales clash

Jack Clifford and Jack Nowell will start for England against Wales in the second round of the Six Nations at the Principality Stadium on Saturday.
The pair are the only two changes to starting XV with Clifford replacing Tom Wood at openside while Nowell comes on the right wing for Jonny May.
Both Wood and May drop to the bench while Teimana Harrison, who was an unused replacement against France last weekend, drops out of the match day squad.
“It’s been a great week of focused preparation and we can’t wait to play Wales,” said England head coach Eddie Jones.
“Playing Wales in Cardiff is one of the biggest games in world rugby and we’re excited. These are the games you want to be part of as a player and a coach.
“It’s a game that is going to be decided on the basics of the game. You do the fundamentals of the game well and you win the game of rugby. We have a young team eager to play well at the great Principality Stadium.
“Jack Nowell starts this week with Jonny May changing to a finisher. Jack has an excellent work-rate and he’s a guy that carries through the line which will be important for us.
“Jack Clifford also deserves his starting role. He is a hard-working, young player. He has got a good record against Wales, he had a superb game against them in May, he knows what he is going to expect from Wales and we’re looking forward to him making an impact to our back-row play. Tom Wood will also play his part later in the game off the bench as a finisher.
“We don’t need extra motivation this week; we play Test rugby because we want to be the best for England. Every game for us is important and our supporters, and Wales is our next game so it’s the most important.”
England: Mike Brown (Harlequins); Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs); Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Elliot Daly (Wasps); George Ford (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, captain), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 70 caps), Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, (Northampton Saints), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
Replacements: Jamie George (Saracens), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Danny Care (Harlequins), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Leave a Comment