Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

50th cap for Robshaw as Ford and Nowell return in England XV

Chris Robshaw will win his 50th England cap on Saturday for the second Test against Australia in Melbourne with Eddie Jones making two changes to his backline.

Robs haw, who will start once again at bindside, made his debut against Argentina back in 2009 and follows in the footsteps of Harlequins teammate Mike Brown who reached the same milestone last week in the 38-29 win over the Wallabies in Brisbane.

The pack remains unchanged but head coach Jones has decided to hand a start to George Ford and Jack Nowell.

Ford, who proved crucial at Suncorp last week being introduced off the bench mid-way thought the first half, starts at fly-half with Owen Farrell shifting out to inside centre.

Meanwhile, try-scorer Nowell gets the nod over Marland Yarde on the right wing.

Elsewhere, Saracens hooker Jamie George, Harlequins back-row forward Jack Clifford and Wasps centre Elliot Daly could get their first action of the tour from the replacements bench.

“We’ve picked a 23 to get the job done in Melbourne,” said Jones. “Throughout the week the players have shown they’re desperate to wear the red rose which meant some close calls on selection.

“It’s a 23 that suits the way we want to play at AAMI Park. George and Owen playing together gives us two great kicking options and Jack is a high work-rate player. Jamie, Jack and Elliot have shown huge desire this week and deserve their spots on the bench.

“As soon as we came off the field in Brisbane our thoughts turned to Melbourne and I’m pleased with how we’ve prepared as the week has progressed. The players have recognised the importance of going up another level and have trained with a real intensity and purpose.

“We weren’t satisfied with last weekend’s performance and we know there’s lots to improve on, particularly aspects of our defence and breakdown work, which we’re confident we’ve remedied.

“We know the job isn’t done. We came here to win a Test series and that’s what we intend to do. Australia will try and throw everything at us on Saturday and we’ll be ready for the challenge.”

England: Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs; Mako Vunipola, Dylan Hartley (c), Dan Cole, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Chris Robshaw, James Haskell, Billy Vunipola

Replacements: Jamie George, Matt Mullan, Paul Hill, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Danny Care, Elliot Daly

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

Have Your Say!

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]