Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

Justin Tipuric to start for Wales against Wallabies

Justin Tipuric has been named in the Wales starting XV as Warren Gatland is looking to answer fire with fire in the Pool of Death decider against Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.

The Wallabies took England apart last weekend with two opensides, David Pocock and Michael Hooper, in their back row and Gatland has opted to replicate that by bringing Tipuric alongside captain Sam Warburton.

Tiputic replaces Dan Lydiate who was an injury doubt due to an eye-socket injury but Taulupe Faletau retains the No.8 jersey.

The other big call from Gatland comes from the midfield with George North starting at outside centre alongside Jamie Roberts. That means Tyler Morgan drops out of the matchday squad while Alex Cuthbert and Liam Williams start on the wings.

The No.15 shirt will be worn by Gareth Anscombe with James Hook staying on the bench.

Up front, Props Paul James and Samson Lee come in for Gethin Jenkins and Tomas Francis while Luke Charteris gets the nod at lock.

“Saturday is another huge encounter and both sides will be coming in with momentum and looking to top Pool A,” said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

“We have been impressed with Australia so far in this competition and we know a step up is required at Twickenham this weekend. It is still all to play for in terms of the knock-out phases.

“We’ve trained well this week, had a full squad to pick from and it is great to welcome back players from injury.”

Wales: Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues); Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), George North (Northampton Saints), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Liam Williams (Scarlets); Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); Paul James (Ospreys), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets); Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys); Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, Capt.), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ken Owens (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), James Hook (Gloucester Rugby).

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]