New Zealand v South Africa preview

New Zealand have made three changes to their starting XV ahead of they top-of-the-table clash against South Africa in the fourth round of the Rugby Championship.
There are two injury-forced changes in the pack as Steve Luatua starts on the blindside in place of Liam Messam and Jeremy Thrush comes for Sam Whitelock.
The other change comes at fly-half with Aaron Cruden being handed the No.10 shirt ahead of Beauden Barrett.
On the bench, Patrick Tuipulotu gets a call-up to fill the void left by Luatua and Cory Jane will cover the outside backs in the place of Malakai Fekitoa.
“This week we have to find a desperation and hunger in our performance because we know that is something the South Africans will be bringing after their loss to Australia,” said head coach Steve Hansen.
“As well they have already stated they have a desire to get a win against us. After two wonderful matches last year, I know our guys are really looking forward to this match.
“We have the utmost respect for South Africa and looking forward to Saturday night.”

Meanwhile, Handre Pollard will be leading the Springboks attacks after being preferred to Morne Steyn by head coach Heyneke Meyer.
The 20-year-old is the only change to the team that narrowly lost to Australia in Perth last week.
The clash in Wellington will be captain Jean de Villiers’ 100th Test appearance.
“We felt that Handré, has the right skill set for how we want to approach this game,” said Meyer.
“He played well in the three Tests that he started. A couple of months ago, he was named the World Junior Player of the Year after some very impressive performances here for the Junior Springboks and I’m sure he can build on that.
“When the big names in South African rugby are mentioned, Jean will forever be among them.
“He’s showed a lot of character and resilience to get here and to me, those are things that set him apart. Jean is not only an extremely good rugby player, but he’s also one of the greatest captains I’ve ever worked with.
“Jean is also a true ambassador for South Africa. To see how he is respected all over the world, is truly humbling and our fellow countrymen can be proud of him.
“Despite all of the success and responsibility, he’s never lost that sparkle in his eye and he treats everyone around him with respect.”
New Zealand: Israel Dagg; Ben Smith, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Julian Savea; Aaron Cruden,  Aaron Smith; Wyatt Crockett, Dane Coles, Owen Franks; Brodie Retallick, Jeremy Thrush; Steven Luatua, Richie McCaw (Capt.), Kieran Read.
Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Joe Moody, Ben Franks, Patrick Tuipulotu, Sam Cane, TJ Perenara, Beauden Barrett, Cory Jane.
South Africa: Willie le Roux; Cornal Hendricks, Jan Serfontein, Jean de Villiers (Capt.), Bryan Habana; Handre Pollard, Ruan Pienaar; Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss, Jannie du Plessis; Eben Etzebeth, Victor Matfield; Francois Louw, Marcell Coetzee, Duane Vermeulen.
Replacements: Bismarck du Plessis, Trevor Nyakane, Marcel van der Merwe, Lood de Jager, Warren Whiteley, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie, Damian de Allende

Leave a Comment