Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

Tipuric to win 50th Wales cap

Justin Tipuric will win his 50th Wales cap as head coach Rob Howley named an unchanged squad to face Ireland at the Millennium on Friday.

Tipuric, who made his debut in Cardiff in 2011, will line up at openside alongside Sam Warburton and Ross Moriarty.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones and Jake Ball continue their partnership in the second row with Rob Evans, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis named in the front row.

Ospreys pair Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar start at half-back with Scarlets duo Scott Williams and Jonathan Davies partnering in the midfield.

Liam Williams, George North and Leigh Halfpenny comprise the back-three as Wales welcome Ireland to Cardiff.

“We felt it was important the same group of players had the opportunity to go out and perform on Friday so we have named an unchanged match-day squad,” said Wales head coach Rob Howley.

“Friday night is an opportunity for us. There is a lot of experience in our group and you don’t become a bad team overnight. We want to show what we can do and that experience will be very important this week.

“We know we need to be more clinical and we need to execute better under pressure and we have been working hard on that during the last few weeks.

“Ireland are one of the in-form sides in world rugby and are coached very well and packed with experience and there are a number of interesting match-up across both teams.

“We always say we are fortunate to have the best supporters in the world and we are eager to put in a performance for them under the lights at Principality Stadium on Friday.”

On the bench, Scott Baldwin, Nicky Smith, Samson Lee, Luke Charteris and Taulupe Faletau provide the forward cover. Gareth Davies, Sam Davies and Jamie Roberts are the backline replacements.

Wales: Halfpenny (Toulon); North (Northampton Saints), Davies (Scarlets), S Williams (Scarlets), L Williams (Scarlets); Biggar (Ospreys), Webb (Ospreys); Evans (Scarlets), Owens (Scarlets), Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ball (Scarlets), AW Jones (Ospreys, capt), Warburton (Cardiff Blues), Tipuric (Ospreys), Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)

Replacements: Baldwin (Ospreys), Smith (Ospreys), Lee (Scarlets), Charteris (Bath), Faletau (Bath), G Davies (Scarlets), S Davies (Ospreys), Roberts (Harlequins)

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

betting sites

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]