Missed us? Buy TRP here!

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Rugby email

Kelly Brown recalled by Scotland to face France

Scotland have recalled Kelly Brown to face France at Murrayfield on Sunday in the fourth round of the Six Nations.

The Saracens flanker returns at openside to captain a side that show two other changes in the pack.

Brown gets the nod over Glasgow’s Chris Fusaro while Dave Denton is at No.8 pushing Johnnie Beattie to the blindside in the place of Ryan Wilson.

In the front row, Geoff Cross is rewarded for a sterling contribution off the bench in the 21-20 win against Italy, with the starting berth at tighthead.

The back division is unchanged from that which started the game in Rome, while on the bench, Euan Murray, the 58-times capped prop, returns to the squad after missing the first three games of the Championship due to injury.

Head coach Scott Johnson said “I think Saturday is a game that will really suit Kelly. Unlike other sides in the competition, France play above the ground a bit and there will be a lot of mauling.

“I think the pitch suits Kelly too and I’ve picked a side that can win the game and that’s most important.

“The other back-row change is slightly enforced as Ryan Wilson has not been well at the start of this week with a tonsillitis bug and it was important we were not hampered in our training so Dents (David Denton) comes straight in.

“Geoff did really well when he came on against Italy and it’s right that he should start this week.”

“Whatever side France put out will be a good one.  They have proven over the years that they are a great rugby nation so whatever side comes to Edinburgh we know we’ll have to be at our best.”

Scotland: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow); Tommy Seymour (Glasgow), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Glasgow); Duncan Weir (Glasgow), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh); Ryan Grant (Glasgow), Scott Lawson (Newcastle), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh); Richie Gray (Castres), Jim Hamilton (Montpellier); Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens, Capt.), David Denton (Edinburgh).

Replacements: Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Worcester), Tim Swinson (Glasgow), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Max Evans (Castres).

This article was brought to you by The Rugby Paper, the UK's best-selling rugby publication, on-sale every Sunday.
To subscribe to The Rugby Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , ,

Related Posts

Comments are closed on this article.

betting sites

[snack_ad id="6539107" type="1by1"]