One enforced change for the Boks for France clash

Lionel Mapoe will replace injured Jesse Kriel at outside centre in the only change to the South Africa line-up for their second Test match against France in Durban on Saturday.

Mapoe returns to the Springbok starting line-up as Kriel is unavailable due to a blow to the head last Saturday’s 37-14 victory in Pretoria.

All five players who made their Test debuts last weekend – Andries Coetzee, Raymond Rhule Courtnall Skosan, Ross Cronje and Dillyn Leyds– were retained by Head Coach  Allister Coetzee.

He said “We kept changes to a minimum and one change to the squad means we can continue to work on our continuity, which is so important.

“This is a new group, so playing together again means that the important combinations are gaining more experience. It is also nice to reward good performances and all of them deserve another opportunity.

With Kriel not available for the Durban encounter, the Springbok coach explained that the decision to select Mapoe next to Serfontein was an easy one.

“Jan Serfontein had a very good match at inside centre in Pretoria and we wanted a specialist at No 13 as replacement for Jesse, so Mapoe is a logical choice. It also means we’re preventing making two changes to the team.

“The forward battle will always be a very important part of the game, we know we will be up against a very well prepared French team in the second Test and we are readying ourselves for that. They would like to bounce back and we would like to continue with our processes. Both teams have a lot to too play for.

“Although not perfect, I’m pleased with the set-pieces and expect a huge onslaught from the French in both areas. We created a number of scoring opportunities, which is a great positive, and hopefully our execution will be better this time.”

South Africa: Andries Coetzee, Raymond Rhule, Lionel Mapoe, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan,  Elton Jantjies, Ross Cronjé, Tendai Mtawarira ,Malcolm Marx, Frans Malherbe ,Eben Etzebeth,  Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi, Oupa Mohoje, Warren Whiteley (captain)

Replacements– Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Coenie Oosthuizen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jean-Luc du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Frans Steyn, Dillyn Leyds.

FRANCE: Huget, Penaud, Fickou,Vakatawa, Trinh-Duc, Serin ,Poirot ,Guirado (cap), Slimani, Maestri, Taofifenua, Camara , Gourdon, Picamoles,

Replacements – Maynadier, Ben Arous, Atonio, Le Devedec, Le Roux, A. Dupont, Doussain, Ducuing


Tagged ,

Related Posts